ZŪJAGO Jazz Beat


Let ZUJAGO’s Matt play some perfect jazz tunes for the occasion by Miles Davis, Julie London, Stan Getz & Joao Gilberto, Chok Kerong and so much more.⁠

Video for this episode will be up shortly.

Norma Benguell – ‘Fever’
Miles Davis – ‘So What’
Miles Davis – ‘Generique’
Miles Davis – ‘It Never Entered My Mind’
Julie London – ‘Cry Me a River’
Frank Sinatra – ‘I’m a Fool to Want You’
Stan Getz & Joao Gilberto – ‘The Girl From Ipanema’
Leslie Butler Plus 3 – ‘We’ve Only Just Begun’
Herbie Hancock – ‘Dolphin Dance’
Kimiko Kasai with Herbie Hancock – ‘I Thought It Was You’
High Pulp – ‘Astral Traveling’
Butcher Brown – ‘Tidal Wave’
QNA ft Supe The Dude – ‘Above The Law’
Chok Kerong – ‘Diggin’ On You’

Watch other episodes of ZŪJAGO Jazz Beat:

Episode 1
Episode 2 (w/ Intriguant)
Episode 3 (w/ Rudy La Faber)
Episode 4 (w/ Aya Sekine)
Episode 5 (w/ Eric Foenander)


Website | Instagram

ZŪJAGO(ズージャ語)translated as “jazz language” started off during the Taisho era (1912 -1926) Japan among jazz musicians as a slang. I felt this word was representative in spirit of what jazz in Japan was about. Taking elements of Western culture and turning it into their own thing, be it incorporating elements of traditional instrumentations or progressions.

With this in mind, I had set out to start a blog documenting Japanese jazz during the 1960s to 1980s and beyond. Granted there are easy ways of accessing this music through YouTube and BBE’s excellent J Jazz Masterclass series which has been feverishly reissuing long out of reach presses. I felt it would help to have a place where as many releases were documented and discussed about in some form. Hoping that in time to come more information about the artists who played the music will be discovered and covered here.